Clare Ferguson Mystery Progress Report

Everyone knows one another in the small town of Millers Kill.  Clare Ferguson, the Episcopal priest is relatively new, but Chief Van Alstyne went to high school with the town leaders and knows the town murderers.  In a complicated plot that includes kidnapping, blackmail, and murder, To Darkness and To Death, the fourth in the Spencer-Fleming series, keeps the suspense high on Chief Van Alstyne’s fiftieth birthday.  Loggers and heirs to a paper mill conflict in the sale of land to a luxury resort.  Rev. Clare is involved in the chase, as she vacillates between a new love interest and her yearning for the married Chief Russ, her soul mate.  Chief Russ has decided to tell his wife about his feelings for Clare.  And the plot thickens…

The next in the series, All Mortal Flesh, opens with a murder – the wife of the Police Chief Van Alsytne.  Both Clare and Russ are suspects, and they are working together again – this time to save themselves.   Another wild mystery ride…I won’t spoil it for you, but Julia Spencer Fleming will keep you reading into the night with this one – with a surprise ending you will not expect.

If you’ve read Julia Spencer-Fleming’s first book – In the Bleak Midwinter – you may have been hooked on both the romance and the murder mystery.  Solving the murders along with the Rev. Clare Ferguson, Episcopal woman priest, and the married police chief, Russ Van Alstyne, is fun and satisfying, but it’s the romance between the two that keeps me looking for the next book.

Spencer-Fleming has 7 in the series; unless you like spoilers, you need to read them in order:

  1. In the Bleak Midwinter
  2. A Fountain Filled with Blood
  3. Out of the Deep I Cry
  4. To Darkness and To Death
  5. All Mortal Flesh
  6. I Shall Not Want
  7. One Was a Soldier